Year of Commencement: 1972
Frequency: Once in three years
Value: Rs.10,000/- with a citation


  • Award is for the best work done in the field of Biochemistry and Allied Sciences in India
  • Recipient of the award should not have completed 50 years before January 1st in the year for which the award is announced.
  • A lecture will be scheduled at the Annual Meeting of SBC(I) and presentation will be made at that time.
  • Eligible person has to be nominated by a life member of the Society and no self nomination is accepted.


Dr. A. N. Radhakrishnan, CMC, Vellore 1972
Dr. B. B. Biswas, Bose Instt., Kolkata 1974
Dr. John Barnabas, NCL, Pune 1976
Dr. N. R. Moudgal, IISc., Bangalore 1978
Dr. N. Appaji Rao, IISc., Bangalore 1980
Dr. A. Surolia, IISc., Bangalore 1982
Dr. P. R. Adiga, IISc., Bangalore 1984
Dr. M. R. Das, CCMB, Hyderabad 1986
Dr. G. K. Garg, G B Pant Univ., Pantnagar 1988
Dr. V. Sitaram, Univ. of Pune, Pune 1990
Dr. A. Jagannadha Rao, IISc., Bangalore 1992
Dr. K. Muniyappa, IISc., Bangalore 1994
Dr. Chi. Mohan Rao, CCMB, Hyderabad 1996
Dr. V. Nagaraja, IISc., Bangalore 1998
Dr. Amitabha Chattopadhayay, CCMB, Hyderabad 2000
Dr. Janendra K. Batra, NII, New Delhi 2002
Dr. Debi Sarkar, UDSC, New Delhi 2005
Dr. Yogendra Sharma, CCMB, Hyderabad 2008
Dr. Utpal Tatu, IISc., Bangalore 2011
Dr. A. K. Mukherjee, Tezpur 2014
Dr. Anirban Basu, NBRC, Haryana 2017
Dr. N. Ganesh, IISc, Bangalore 2020