Year of Commencement:1983
Frequency: Once in three years
Value : Rs.10,000/- with a citation

Eligibility :

  • Award is for the best work done in the field of Biochemistry and Allied Sciences in India (suggested areas are nutrition, as related to cell and membrane biology,neurochemistry immunology, cancer research,biochemistry of brain etc.)
  • Award is open to all scientists working in India irrespective of their membership in the Society. No age limit.
  • If nominations are not received before the scheduled date, the awards committee can itself nominate a suitable candidate for the award.
  • A lecture will be scheduled at the Annual Meeting of SBC(I) and presentation will be made at that time.
  • Eligible person has to be nominated by a life member of the Society and no self nomination is accepted.


Dr. S. C. Srikantaiah 1983
Dr. P. S. Sastry, IISc., Bangalore 1985
Dr. B. S. Narasinga Rao, NIN, Hyderabad 1987
Dr. M. Jamaluddin, SCTIMC, Trivandrum 1989
Dr. N. C. Mandal, Bose Instt., Kolkata 1991
Dr. K. Subba Rao, Univ. of Hyd, Hyderabad 1993
Dr. R. Nagaraj, CCMB, Hyderabad 1995
Dr. Ashok Khar, CCMB, Hyderabad 1997
Dr. Pijush. K. Das, IICB, Kolkata 1999
Dr. Chitra Mandal, IICB, Kolkata 2001
Dr. K. Srinivasan, CFTRI, Mysore 2003
Dr. Vinod Bhakuni, CDRI, Lucknow 2006
Dr. Y.P. Venkatesh, CFTRI, Mysore 2009
Dr. M R Rajeshwari   2012
Dr. Subrato Chattopadhyay, BARC, Mumbai 2015
Dr. Tanya Bose, Bose Institute, Kolkata 2018